The quickest way to understand the Sessions area of Hopin is to think of rooms or groups within your event, gather around “virtual roundtables.” 

When you click the Sessions tab, you will see the current sessions that you can join. These were created by the organiser. Sessions can also be created by attendees if the Organiser checked the box to allow it (you’ll see the Add Sessions button in the top right). To allow attendees to create their own sessions during your event, check the box in the Sessions tab of your event dashboard.

What “Share audio and video” means

When you join a session, there are two modes, watching and participating. When you first click a session, you are watching. If it’s a dark screen it means nobody is on screen yet. Clicking "Share audio and video" means you are want to participate on live video — people can see and hear you in the session. Up to ten people can join a session on live video by clicking the "Share audio and video" button. 

For attendees who don’t want to join on live video, they can simply watch. Up to 500 people can view a session (off camera) at a time.

At the top of a session, you’ll notice the number of people watching and the number of people on camera.

Chat

Each session has its own group chat, separate from the event-wide chat. As a viewer, you can interact with the people who are in the session via chat using the Session chat. This is a great place to ask questions and engage with people on-camera when you don’t want to be on-camera yourself.

Four types of Hopin Sessions

With Hopin Sessions, there are four types.

  1. Open. Open sessions are available for anyone to participate on camera. The blue "Share audio and video" button is visible to everyone. 
  2. Moderated. Moderated sessions have one or more moderators who allow people onto camera and can remove people. Moderators are selected in the Sessions settings in your event dashboard (note: moderators must be registered attendees). In Moderated sessions, all attendees see "Request to share audio and video” instead of the usual “Share audio and video” button. When an attendee clicks "Request to share audio and video,” the moderator sees their profile at the bottom of the screen in the moderation panel. One click adds them to the video stream and moderators can click to remove them from the stream at any time. Note: if an attendee creates their own session at a live event, they can select themselves as moderators. 
  3. Invite only. Invite only sessions show the "Share audio and video” button only to select individuals, most likely the speakers. These individuals are selected in the Sessions settings in your event dashboard. They must be registered for your event in order to select them.
  4. Viewable only to specific ticket holders. You can also designate sessions as viewable only to certain ticket holders. This is a way to create a private or hidden room for a group of users at your event, such as a “speaker lounge” or “VIPs only” roundtable. It’s also a great way for charging a higher ticket price for access to private sessions.

Keep in mind you can always delete a session from your event from the Sessions tab in your event dashboard. 

How to add a moderator 

A moderator is selected by the organiser before the event under Sessions >>> Session Name >>> Who Can Join >>> Moderated >>> type the name of the registered attendee to make them a moderator. Hit Save.

Reminder: Moderators, similar to Speakers, must be registered for an event in order for their name to appear when you start typing it in the box. Once your moderators claim their event ticket, you can select them as moderators for your sessions. 

When a moderator is in a session, other attendees can click the button that says "Request to share audio and video.” Clicking this button will open the moderation panel for the moderator to view who’s requesting and click to add them to the video stream. 

Once allowed, the person will choose their audio/video devices and then appear on camera. The moderator can one-click remove the person by clicking “Remove” on the person’s video. 

How to make a private session

As an organiser, you can change who has access to certain sessions at an event. This is useful for creating private sessions, managing high-demand sessions, and adding value to certain ticket holders. For example, if Elon Musk is in a session, you can control who can watch his session, creating an opportunity to offer higher-priced “VIP” tickets.

In the Sessions tab in your event dashboard, find the “Who can watch” area and switch it from “Anyone” to “Specific ticket holders.” Choose the ticket holder type that can view this session by typing the first four characters of the ticket name.

Max participants

Max participants is the number of people allowed to participate on camera (not viewers, which can be 500). On-camera, there can be one to ten people. If you need this number to increase to up to 20, you can, however the viewers allowed drops from 500 to 150.

Recording sessions

Check the box “Do you want to record this session?” to record the session. Note: Recording starts the moment someone participates in a session (goes on camera). If speakers leave and no one participates in a session for an hour, recording will stop and will not resume. If a speaker returns in less than an hour, your recording will automatically clip the dead space. There is a 2 hour maximum to recordings. This two hours will restart if everyone leaves the screen, and comes back.

You receive all of your Hopin event recordings as downloadable MP4s at the end of the event in your Event Reports. Event Reports show up at the end of your event at the top of your event dashboard.

Did this answer your question?