Networking area remains one of the pillar experiences of an event on Hopin.
It’s personal, it’s fun, and it’s smooth.

When creating a new event, Networking will be on by default - disabling it is possible via the Key Details page on the event dashboard.

The Networking area is simple and straightforward but there are some rules, concepts, and tips that are vital to know — all of which we cover below.

How Networking works on Hopin

The Networking area on Hopin is the place for automated one-on-one meetings and is Hopin’s way of facilitating connection discovery at an event. Similar to an experience that feels like FaceTime or Hangouts, Hopin pairs two people over a direct video call.

In Networking, when someone clicks the Ready button, the system searches for someone else who has also clicked the Ready button. If someone else is available, the two are matched instantly and the video chat begins and lasts for a preset amount of time.

The amount of time for individual meetings is set by the organiser. Attendees see a timer countdown on the top side of the screen. When the time expires, the meeting ends.

To change the Networking meeting duration:

  • Go to your event dashboard
  • Select Networking 
  • Adjust the maximum and minimum meeting duration (in seconds).
  • Click Save Meetings

Right below the maximum, you’ll notice the minimum meeting duration, which is the amount of time (in seconds) that each meeting must last before the Leave button becomes active and an attendee can end the meeting to go on to the next. The default is 30 seconds but this can be modified by organisers. The minimum meeting duration is a safeguard to prevent attendees from rifling through meetings as fast as possible to reach a desired person.

In a Networking meeting, the blue Connect button shows up at the top right corner of the screen. The purpose of this button is to give users the ability to quickly and easily exchange contact information, similar to exchanging business cards at a physical event.

If both people click Connect, a connection registers. When a connection registers, both people will see the others’ contact info on Connections tab of their Profile.

Attendees will not know if the other person clicked Connect until the end of the event. The purpose is to allow users to unawkwardly avoid giving out their contact information if they do not wish to. 

Note: Organizers can see how many connections were made at an event in the Event Summary report.

How Ticket Matching works

By default, Hopin networking is like a professional chatroulette embedded in your event, but you can configure the Networking area so that it’s not so random. You can program Hopin to match certain ticket holders (e.g., “Job seekers”) with other certain ticket holders (e.g., “Employers”) only.

To do this, go to the Networking tab. If you have two or more ticket options, you’ll see the button for Ticket Matching. If you don’t see Ticket Matching, it’s likely because you only have one type of ticket available.

Select the radio button “Restricted by ticket matching.”

Click Ticket Matching. Click the ticket types under “Can meet with” that the ticket holder can meet with in the Networking area. Hold Shift or control/command to select multiple. Click save.

Important Networking rules to know

  • Once you meet someone in the Networking area at an event, you will not be matched with that person in the Networking area again at that event. You will never meet the same person twice in the Networking area.
  • Networking defaults to letting everyone meet everyone. This can be changed under Hopin ticket matching.
  • Intentional networking is possible via the People tab of the event venue. You can also use Sessions for these meetings.
  • Networking meetings are not recorded or recordable.
  • If two people are searching in the Networking area but not meeting, it’s probably because their tickets are not matched up in Ticket Matching, they already met before, and/or they are in a meeting currently.
  • Users can turn off their camera in the Networking area.
  • Report any users using the three dot menu. Indicate the reason and we will investigate and ban any users who violated our terms of use.
  • Screen sharing is not possible in Networking.
  • In order to begin networking, an attendee must have a camera and microphone connected to their device and allowed in their browser.
  • Any changes made to the Networking settings during a live event will affect only those who navigate away and back to networking after the changes were saved.

Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] in case you have questions or need assistance.

Did this answer your question?